2024 – Target 2030. What’s the pathway forward?

UPDATE: Redesigning road safety

UPDATE: With just under 600 delegates from across the world, the annual conference was a huge success bringing together many road safety professionals and practitioners to share ideas and experiences.

UPDATE: The ARSC 2023 was officially opened on Tuesday 19 September at the Cairns Convention Centre, QLD with a Welcome to Country delivered by Gavin Singleton a representative of the Yirrganydji community. This was followed by The Honourable Cynthia Liu, Member of the Queensland Parliament, addressing an enthusiastic audience in person and online. View photos from the conference on Flickr.

UPDATE: ARSC 2024 Welcome Video

2024 Speakers

Dr Lars Ekman

Dr Lars Ekman

Senior Advisor, Swedish Transport Administration
Dr Helen Wells

Dr Helen Wells

Senior Lecturer in Criminology, Keele University
Dr Amantha Imber

Dr Amantha Imber

Director, Inventium
Placeholder 500x500

Ms Carla Hoorweg

Prof Stuart Newstead

Prof Stuart Newstead

Director, Monash University Accident Research Centre
Mr Neville Taylor

Mr Neville Taylor

Road Safety Camera Commissioner, Office of the Road Safety Camera Commissioner

UPDATE: Australasian College of Road Safety Awards

The ACRS Fellowship Award was presented to .

The ACRS Young Leaders Oration Award was presented to .

The ACRS Women in Road Safety Award was presented to .

UPDATE: ARSC 2024 Conference Prizes

Peter Vulcan Award for Best Conference Submission
A Before-After Safety Evaluation of a New Part-time Protected-Right-turn Signal
Andrew Burbridge
Department of Transport and Main Roads, QLD

Best Conference Theme Submission
Incompatibility of Traditional Economic Appraisal Methods and Safe System Outcomes
Paul Durdin

Best Submission by a New Researcher
Injury Surveillance Database: Promoting Road Safety in Pakistan
Muhammed Navid Tahir
University of the Punjab, Pakistan

Best Submission by a New Practitioner
It’s Not Me, It’s You: Drivers’ Perception Bias Improves Safety
Dr Daniela Barragan

Best Submission by a Policing Practitioner
Uncovering the Urgency for Heightened Drug Testing
Rachael Mason
New Zealand Police

Best Submission by a Road Safety Practitioner
Risk Assessment for Transportation of Dangerous Goods through Tunnels
Diana Zagora
Transport for NSW

Best Road Safety Poster (judged)
Older Australian Drivers’ Preferences in Purchasing Decisions: Advanced Vehicle Technology
Helen Nguyen
University of NSW

People’s Choice – Best Poster Author
E-Scooter Survey and Testing – A Safety Campaign
Andrew Kirk

Organising Committee

Ms Jenny Branch-Allen (Chair)

Ms Yasmin Maskiell

Ms Emily Studley

Dr Ingrid Johnston (ACRS)

Ms Cecily Michaels (ACRS)

A/Prof Sjaan Koppel

Ms Teresa Williams

Mr Michael Nieuwesteeg

Ms Susan Teerds

Mr Gary MacDonald

Mr Gary Williams

Ms Ange Green

Scientific Committee

A/Prof Sjaan Koppel (Chair)

Mr David McTiernan

Dr Marilyn Johnson

Mr Craig Hoey

A/Prof Lyndel Bates

Dr Ingrid Johnston (ACRS)

Ms Cecily Michaels (ACRS)

Ms Alison Hetherington

Dr Jamie Mackenzie

Dr Shane Turner

Prof Teresa Senserrick

Ms Aimee Wescombe


30 SEP - 3 OCTOBER 2024

Join Australasia's leading road safety and injury prevention researchers, practitioners and policy makers online.
Register now