ARSC 2024 Speakers

Dr Lars Ekman

Dr Lars Ekman

Senior Advisor, Swedish Transport Administration

Dr. Lars Ekman has a background as researcher at Lund University, Sweden. His research focused on traffic safety evaluation applied on pedestrians and bicyclists. Lars Ekman has also for a long time been involved in international collaborations in the field of traffic safety both on a European with CEDR and global arena. He has worked as an expert in traffic safety at the Swedish Transport Administration with special emphasis on traffic safety countermeasures.

Lars Ekman popular speaker on the topic of The Vision Zero, often in connection to the Vision Zero Academy.

Dr Helen Wells

Dr Helen Wells

Senior Lecturer in Criminology, Keele University

Information coming soon.

Dr Amantha Imber

Dr Amantha Imber

Director, Inventium

Dr Amantha Imber is an organisational psychologist and founder of behaviour change consultancy Inventium. Amantha is also the co-creator of the Australian Financial Review’s Most Innovative Companies list and the AFR BOSS Best Places to Work list and has worked with companies such as Google, Apple, Disney, LEGO, and Atlassian.

In 2019, Amantha was named as one of the Australian Financial Review’s 100 Women of Influence. In 2021, she won the Thinkers50 Innovation Award (described by the Financial Times as the ‘Oscars for Management Thinking’).

Amantha is also the host of the number one ranking business podcast How I Work, which has had over 5 million downloads. Amantha’s thoughts have appeared in Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Entrepreneur and Fast Company and she is the author of three bestselling books, including international bestseller Time Wise. Her latest book The Health Habit is out now.

Ms Carla Hoorweg


Carla has been leading ANCAP Safety since December 2020. Prior to ANCAP, Carla held a number strategy, policy, legal and product development roles across the financial sector.

Her qualifications include Juris Doctor and Masters of Law (UTS), Executive MBA (AGSM) and Applied Psychology (Canberra). Carla is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Prof Stuart Newstead

Prof Stuart Newstead

Director, Monash University Accident Research Centre

Stuart Newstead Professor and Director of the Monash University Accident Research Centre where he also leads the Centre’s Injury Analysis and Data team. He holds a Ph.D. in applied statistics and is accredited by the Australian Statistical Society.

He has worked at MUARC since 1993 and has developed specific expertise in a wide range of safety research areas with a numerical focus. His areas of significant topic-based expertise include a particular focus on: road safety program evaluation; vehicle safety evaluation, monitoring and policy setting; police enforcement programs including policy and practice advice; vulnerable and high-risk road user safety and countermeasures; injury data systems design and analysis; and injury severity metrics.

Mr Neville Taylor

Neville Taylor APM MAICD

Road Safety Camera Commissioner, Office of the Road Safety Camera Commissioner

Mr Neville Taylor has an extensive background with Victoria Police, contributing to the United Nations Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011–2020 and the Global Road Safety project, to combat international road trauma.
Locally, with a focus on new enforcement technology, he oversaw the design and implementation of Automatic Number Place Recognition technology, roadside drug testing and red-light, fixed and mobile road safety cameras.
Supported by extensive research, Neville leads the cultural change and discussions of Victorian community attitudes around the enforcement of low-level speeding, mobile phone use, the wearing of seatbelts and their impact on road trauma.

In his role as Road Safety Camera Commissioner, Neville is committed to ensuring the integrity and transparency of road safety camera technology, increasing community confidence in and acceptance of road safety cameras as an important part of enforcement that can contribute to a change in driver behaviour and safer driving habits.