ACRS Young Leaders Oration Award

Recognising our younger road safety leaders.

The ACRS Young Leaders Oration Award was first awarded in 2019. Nominations are sought from road safety professionals throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.

Nominees must be 40 years or younger, must demonstrate active involvement in road safety, must show the potential for future leadership, and must be performing inspiring work.

Winners receive a prestigious ACRS plaque in recognition of their work, plus the opportunity to make a presentation of their choosing to hundreds of professionals in the road safety field.

Nominations for the 2023 ACRS Awards will open in May 2023. The winners will be announced at Conference Dinner during the 2023 Australasian Road Safety Conference

Award Criteria

Nominees must:

  • be a member of the ACRS;
  • be 40 years or younger;
  • demonstrate active involvement in road safety;
  • show the potential for future leadership in the road safety field; and
  • be performing inspiring work.

Procedure for Nomination

  • Nominations to be made through the online form completed by two fellows or current members
  • Nominees are not to be advised of their nomination.

Previous Winners

The winner of the inaugural ACRS Young Leaders Oration Award was Dr Oscar Oviedo-Trespalacios who specialises in the behavioural adaptation of road users (drivers, cyclists and pedestrians) to technological change in transport systems. The 2020 winner of the award was Dr Tana Tan who is a consultant in the fields of biomechanics of human injury, passenger vehicle safety and motorcycle safety.


30 SEP - 3 OCTOBER 2024

Join Australasia's leading road safety and injury prevention researchers, practitioners and policy makers online.
Register now