Your Invitation to ARSC 2021

We look forward to seeing you.

A welcome message from our Co-Chairs & Co-Host Organisations.

“It’s not through luck alone that Melbourne, Australia has consistently ranked as one of the world’s most liveable cities. A thriving city of over 6.4 million people, our population has grown faster than any other Australian city over the past 10 years. If trends continue as predicted, Melbourne will overtake Sydney as Australia’s largest city by 2030.

As our cities grow, the way we choose to get around is undergoing its own evolution. In an age dominated by technology and choice, transportation is fundamental to the liveability of our great city. Transport is also critical to our rural and regional communities by supporting social inclusion, access to goods and services and employment.

For decades now, Victoria has been at the forefront of significant road safety reforms, both nationally and internationally, by being open to fresh approaches to drive the road toll down towards zero.

World-leading initiatives such as mandatory seatbelt laws, random breath testing and roadside drug screening have helped make the roads safer for everyone, both in Victoria and around the world, where these and other ideas have been adopted and refined.

Now, as we begin a new decade, we are again seeking the fresh approaches and new ideas that will position Australia to achieve its vision zero target by 2050, help drive New Zealand further along their Road To Zero and improve road safety throughout the Asia/Pacific region.

Join us in Melbourne, or online, in September 2021 to build on the wonderful advancements made during the Decade of Action for Road Safety and showcase your fresh approach as we embark on a brand new decade.”

Dr Jeff Potter
ARSC 2021 Co-Chair
Principal Safety Policy Advisor
National Transport Commission
National Transport Commission logo
Mr Martin Small
Australasian College of Road Safety
Australasian College of Road Safety logo
Mr Chris Brennan
ARSC2021 Co-Chair
Manager Road Safety Planning
Department of Transport, Victoria
Department of Transport, Victoria logo
Mr Michael Nieuwesteeg
Chair, Austroads Safety Task Force
Program Manager for Road Safety and Design
AustRoads logo
ARSC 2021 logo

28-30 SEPTEMBER 2021

Join Australasia's leading road safety and injury prevention researchers, practitioners and policy makers online.
Register now