ACRS Awards

Accolades for our roads safety heroes.

The Australasian College of Road Safety Awards celebrates the outstanding projects and people who help save lives and reduce injuries on our roads.

The 2022 Awards will be held at the 2022 Australasian Road Safety Conference – 28 September to 30 September, 2022.

3M-ACRS Diamond Road Safety Award

This award recognises projects that exhibit outstanding innovation and effectiveness in saving lives and injuries on roads.  This award is Australasia’s premier road safety award recognising an outstanding road trauma reduction project.

Previous winners include:

  • A low cost implanted compact roundabout project developed by the Mildura Rural City Council (2020)
  • A radar-based intersection collision avoidance system run by the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads (TMR) (2019)
  • A Northern Territory indigenous program changing attitudes and behaviours towards the use of proper child car restraints. This project was run by the Northern Territory Motor Accidents (Compensation) Commission (MACC), led by Team Leader Christine Thiel (2018)
  • A program building strong and enduring safety-focused relationships with families, run by KidSafe ACT and led by Team Leader Eric Chalmers (2017)
  • A program to enable Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to obtain their drivers licence, created by DriveSafe NT Remote and led by Team Leader Wayne Buckley (2016)
  • A project delivered by the Queensland Government to expedite road trauma reductions on the Bruce Highway (2015), and
  • An innovative program for Cycle Safe Communities, run by The Amy Gillett Foundation (2014)
Learn more about the 3M-ACRS Diamond Road Safety Award

ACRS Fellowship Award

This award is recognised as the Australasian road safety community’s highest honour, recognising an individual for their outstanding commitment and effectiveness in their efforts to reduce road trauma. The award recipient is recognised with a citation and plaque.

Award winners must have made contributions that have led to substantial growth and improvement in an important institution or organisation, body of knowledge or aspect of thought and practice associated with road safety.

Award Information, Criteria and Previous Winners

ACRS Young Leaders Oration Award

The ACRS Young Leaders Oration Award was first awarded in 2019. Nominations for this award are sought from road safety professionals throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific. Nominees must be 40 years or younger, must demonstrate active involvement in road safety, must show the potential for future leadership, and must be performing inspiring work. Winners receive a prestigious ACRS plaque in recognition of their work, plus the opportunity to make a presentation of their choosing to hundreds of professionals in the road safety field.

Award Information, Criteria and Previous Winners

28-30 SEPTEMBER 2022

Join Australasia's leading road safety and injury prevention researchers, practitioners and policy makers online.
Register now